

March 1, 2023

Town of Saugeen Shores Council 600 Tomlinson Drive Port Elgin, ON N0H 2C0 (Via e-mail)

Attention: Town of Saugeen Shores and MIC Member Councils

RE: Alternate Lead for Municipal Innovation Council

I'd like to bring your attention to some recent developments around the Municipal Innovation Council (MIC). Since its formation in 2020, the MIC has focused on the following priorities:

- construction and infrastructure,
- municipal sustainability,
- information technology and digital enhancements, and
- livable communities.

The MIC has undertaken studies, pilot projects and provided solutions to all municipal members that have resulted in costs savings, information sharing and technical advancements that will have lasting impact and benefit.

As you are aware from the approved Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the partnering municipalities, the Town of Saugeen Shores has chaired the MIC, acting as the lead Municipality over the past three years. Recently, the Nuclear Innovation Institute (NII) has provided notice that it will no longer support a Program Delivery Agreement for a staff person to act as the Program Director. Since that notice, MIC members have spent time analyzing the program's future delivery model.

Members have requested a proposal from the County of Bruce to transfer the lead of the MIC to the County and for the County to support program delivery. While the MIC members appreciate the commitment and resources from Saugeen Shores as the lead municipality, the County of Bruce may offer a model that will serve the partnership goals at a different scale, as well as have the internal capacity to support shared initiatives for the term of the approved MOU (2023-2025).

The MIC members will meet again on March 29th, 2023, and have requested the County provide a Program Delivery proposal for MIC member consideration. It is expected this



renewed model will meet the initial goals of the MIC with an expanded focus to support all eight (8) lower tier municipalities.

On behalf of the Chief Administrative Officers for the MIC member municipalities, we would like to extend our sincere thanks and gratitude for Saugeen Shores leadership over the past three years. We are committed to continue advancing initiatives that are mutually beneficial to the membership, and to seek solutions for problems that are shared between our municipalities.

It is our hope that Saugeen Shores Council will continue to see the benefit of the MIC with an alternate Lead and that all municipal partners throughout the County will continue to work together with a focus on success in 2023 under this new administrative model.

Yours truly,

Sylvia Kirkwood, CAO
Sonya Watson, CAO
Mary Rose Walden, CAO
Jillene Bellchamber-Glazier, CAO
Peggy Van Mierlo-West, CAO
Kara Van Myall, CAO
Leanne Martin, CAO
Derrick Thomson, CAO

c.c. Municipal Innovation Council membership