

The Corporation of the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

Staff Report

Council Meeting Date: September 11, 2023

Subject: SRDPCLK.23.03 South Bruce OPP Detachment Board Update

Report from: Julie Hamilton, Deputy Clerk

Appendices: Appendix A – SRCLK.21.06 OPP Detachment Board

Appendix B – July 19, 2023 Correspondence from the Office of the

Ministry of the Solicitor General

Appendix C – Email Correspondence from the Office of the Ministry of

the Solicitor General

Recommendation

Be It Resolved that Council hereby,

1. Supports the formation of One (1) OPP Detachment Board for the five municipalities policed by the South Bruce Detachment as submitted to the Ministry of the Solicitor General in the 2021 proposal.

Report Summary

The intent of this report is to provide Council with information regarding the required formation of a Joint South Bruce OPP Detachment Police Board and receive direction from Council on the formation of one or two Police Boards within the South Bruce Detachment.

Background

Ontario passed the Comprehensive Ontario Police Services Act, 2019 (Bill 68) and established the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 (CSPA) which, once in force, will repeal the Police Services Act, 1990 (PSA) which in turn will repeal any Police Services Boards that are currently established.

Section 67 of the CSPA requires that there be an Ontario Provincial Police Detachment Board for each detachment that provides policing in a municipality or in a First Nations community. The Ministry was required to develop a regulation related to the composition of each OPP Detachment Board.

To meet compliance with the new legislation, the five (5) municipalities policed by the South Bruce OPP Detachment, Arran-Elderslie, Brockton, Huron-Kinloss, Kincardine and South Bruce, were required to work together and submit one proposal regarding the composition of their OPP Detachment Board.

At that time, Brockton preferred to remain as a stand-alone police board as their first choice and sent a letter the Ministry of the Solicitor General requesting an exemption under the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 to allow the Municipality of Brockton to maintain the Brockton Police Services Board as a singular Board as requested by the Brockton Police Services Board. As a secondary choice, Brockton was included in the joint proposal.

Staff brought forward a report May 10, 2021, which is attached to this report as **Appendix A**, for review, that provided information on the legislative changes and the next steps to ensure compliance. The report contained a recommendation to Council to approve, in principle, the composition of the OPP Detachment Board, as presented within the report.

On May 10, 2021, Council passed the following resolution:

14-198-2021

Moved by: Deputy Mayor Davis
Seconded by: Councillor Nickason

Be It Resolved

- 1) THAT the Council of the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie hereby approves Report No. SRCLK-2021-06;
- 2) AND agrees in principle to the composition of the OPP Detachment Board;
- 3) AND FURTHER directs staff to continue to work with the participating municipalities in submitting the OPP Detachment Board proposal.

Carried

Subsequently, Huron-Kinloss submitted the joint South Bruce OPP Detachment Board Proposal on behalf of the proposed membership.

Analysis

On July 19, 2023, Huron-Kinloss received a letter from the Ministry of the Solicitor General advising that the proposal has been approved by the Solicitor General to the next step in finalizing the board composition, which is posting the composition on the Ontario Regulatory Registry (ORR).

The approved composition is as follows:

Board	Communities Serviced	Council Seats	Community Representative Seat(s)	Provincial Appointment Seats	Total Seats
1	Municipality of Arran- Elderslie, Municipality of Brockton, Huron-Kinloss Township, Municipality of Kincardine, Municipality of South Bruce	5	2	2	9

Prior to advancing the Proposal to the next step, the Ministry of the Solicitor General sent an additional correspondence by email to Huron-Kinloss, advising they were also aware that Brockton is seeking to establish a separate detachment board independent of all other communities which would result in South Bruce (OPP) having 2 OPP detachment boards.

The correspondence requests clarification if all communities being served in the detachment have given their consent to Brockton establishing their own board.

The resolution noted above and passed by Council is for one Detachment Board and includes Brockton as a member.

It should be noted that currently there is three (3) Police Service Boards (Huron-Kinloss, Kincardine and Brockton).

Staff are seeking Council support to maintain or reconfirm the 2021 recommendation to create one Detachment Board for all five (5) municipalities and all existing Police Service Boards be disbanded, rather than supporting the 2023 request for two (2) separate boards – one for four of the municipalities and a standalone board for Brockton.

<u>Link to Strategic/Master Plan</u>

6.5 Engaging People and Partnerships

Financial Impacts/Source of Funding/Link to Procurement Policy

At this time, the financial implications of the formation of the Joint OPP Detachment Board are undetermined depending on the formation of the proposed board. Some staffing costs will be incurred as one member of Council will be required to sit on the Board.

Approved by: Sylvia Kirkwood, Chief Administrative Officer