South Bruce OPP Detachment Board BOARD MINUTES

Tuesday, December 17, 2024, 1:00 p.m. Council Chambers and/or Via Microsoft Teams 1925 Bruce Road 10 Chesley, ON NOG 1L0

Members Present: Moiken Penner, Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

Tim Elphick, Municipality of Brockton

Don Murray, Municipality of Huron-Kinloss Rory Cavanagh, Municipality of Kincardine Nigel Van Dyk, Municipality of South Bruce Margaret Visser - Community Representative Joe Dietrich - Community Representative

Staff Present: Jennifer Lawrie, Recording Secretary

Julie Hamilton

Trish Serratore, Chief Financial Officer, Municipality of

Brockton

Inspector Keegan Wilcox - South Bruce OPP Detachment

Commander

S/Sqt. Deb McClure - South Bruce OPP

1. Call to Order

Clerk Jennifer Lawrie called the meeting to order.

2. Election of Chair and Vice Chair

The Clerk opened the floor to nominations for the Chair.

Nigel Van Dyk and Rory Cavanagh were nominated and accepted.

The Clerk called the vote and the following resolution was passed:

SBODB-2024-12-17-01

Moved by: Moiken Penner

Seconded by: Joe Dietrich - Community

Representative

Be It Resolved that Nigel Van Dyk is hereby elected as Chair of the South Bruce OPP Detachment Board.

Carried

The Clerk called for nominations for Vice Chair.

Rory Cavanagh was nominated.

The Clerk called the vote and the following resolution was passed:

SBODB-2024-12-17-02

Moved by: Nigel Van Dyk

Seconded by: Moiken Penner

Be It Resolved that Rory Cavanagh is hereby elected as Vice Chair of the South Bruce OPP Detachment Board.

Carried

The Clerk turned the meeting over to the Chair.

3. Disclosures of Conflict of Interest and/or Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof

None at this time.

4. Approval of Agenda

SBODB-2024-12-17-03

Moved by: Rory Cavanagh

Seconded by: Margaret Visser -

Community Representative

Be It Resolved that the agenda for the South Bruce OPP Detachment Board Meeting of October 16, 2024 be received and adopted, as distributed by the Recording Secretary.

Carried

5. Approval of Past Minutes

5.1 October **16**, 2024 Minutes

SBODB-2024-12-17-04

Moved by: Joe Dietrich - Community

Representative

Seconded by: Rory Cavanagh

Be It Resolved that the South Bruce OPP Detachment Board adopt the minutes of the meeting held on October 16, 2024.

- 6. Presentations/Delegations
- 7. Business from Previous Meetings
- 8. Reports

8.1 Detachment Commander's Report

Inspector Keegan Wilcox presented his report to the Board which reflects statistical data from January to October of 2024.

Inspector Wilcox added that to date in 2024, 10 new probationary officers have been added to the Detachment and the Community Services Officer has been highly engaged in community events throughout the year which has seen positive results for the Detachment.

It was also noted that previous bylaw enforcement agreements that were in place prior to the formation of the new Board are no longer valid and each municipality should discuss their needs separately with the Detachment. Municipal bylaw enforcement can assist to deal with matters that may otherwise occupy police time which helps reduce calls for service.

SBODB-2024-12-17-05

Moved by: Rory Cavanagh

Seconded by: Moiken Penner

Be It Resolved that the South Bruce OPP Detachment Board receives the Detachment Commander's report for information.

Carried

8.2 Financial Reports

8.2.1 2025 South Bruce OPP Detachment Board Budget

Trish Serratore presented her report on the Draft South Bruce OPP Detachment Board Budget.

The Board provided direction to Staff on the outstanding matters associated with the budget.

SBODB-2024-12-17-06

Moved by: Moiken Penner

Seconded by: Margaret Visser -

Community Representative

Be It Resolved that the Detachment Board directs Staff to reach out to the other five municipalities to seek proposals for the provision of Secretary/Treasurer services and that proposals be brought back to the next meeting.

Carried

SBODB-2024-12-17-07

Moved by: Don Murray

Seconded by: Moiken Penner

Be It Resolved that the Detachment Board does not support the incorporation of a donation to the Crimestoppers of Grey Bruce in the budget.

Carried

SBODB-2024-12-17-08

Moved by: Moiken Penner

Seconded by: Joe Dietrich - Community

Representative

Be It Resolved that the Detachment Board approves the budget as discussed and that the surplus from 2024 be carried forward and further that the equal share per municipality shall be \$5000.00 for 2025.

Carried

8.2.2 Remuneration Policy

As part of the budget discussion, the Board set the remuneration for Members of the Boards.

SBODB-2024-12-17-09

Moved by: Tim Elphick

Seconded by: Don Murray

Be It Resolved That the Detachment Board recommend that the Municipal Council Representatives remuneration

be \$250 per meeting with no additional compensation for mileage.

Carried

SBODB-2024-12-17-10

Moved by: Joe Dietrich - Community

Representative

Seconded by: Margaret Visser -

Community Representative

Be It Resolved that the Detachment Board recommend that the Municipal Council Representatives remuneration for conference and other events be \$250 per day.

Carried

8.3 Action Items List

Clerk Jennifer Lawrie presented the Action Item list to the Board.

The final budget will be provided to each member municipality for approval.

Based on the discussions regarding remuneration, a formal Remuneration Policy will be brought forward for adoption by the Board.

9. Correspondence

10. Next Meeting

The Board set the 2025 meeting schedule as follows:

- February 4, 2025 Municipality of South Bruce 1:00 p.m.
- May 13, 2025 Township of Huron Kinloss 1:00 p.m.
- September 2, 2025 Municipality of Brockton 1:00 p.m.
- November 4, 2025 Municipality of Kincardine 1:00 p.m.

11. Adjournment

SBODB-2024-12-17-11

Moved by: Rory Cavanagh

Seconded by: Moiken Penner

Be It Resolved that the meeting be adjourned at 2:59 p.m.	
	Carried
Board Chair Board Secret	arv