Multi Municipal Energy Working Group MINUTES

MMEWG-2025-01 Thursday, January 9, 2025, 7:00 p.m. Virtually via Microsoft Teams

Members Present: Mark Davis - Municipality of Arran-Elderslie - Citizen

Appointee

Ryan Nickason - Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

Terry Mckay - Township of Chatsworth

Tom Allwood - Municipality of Grey Highlands Dan Wickens - Municipality of Grey Highlands

Jim Hanna - Township of Huron Kinloss

Todd Dowd - Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula

Sue Carleton - Township of Georgians Bluffs

Others Present: Julie Hamilton - Recording Secretary

Bill Palmer - Technical Advisor

1. Meeting Details

2. Call to Order

The Chair called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. A quorum was present.

3. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair

The Recording Secretary opened the floor for nominations for Chair.

Tom Allwood was nominated to remain as Chair. He accepted the nomination.

The Recording Secretary called a second time for nominations. None were made and nomination were closed.

Tom Allwood was appointed Chair of the Working Group for 2025.

The Recording Secretary opened the floor for nominations for Vice-Chair.

Mark Davis was nominated. He declined.

Jim Hanna was nominated. He declined.

Todd Dowd was nominated. He accepted.

The Recording Secretary called a second time for nominations. None were made and nomination were closed.

Todd Dowd was appointed Vice-Chair of the Working Group for 2025.

The Recording Secretary turned the meeting over to the Chair.

4. Adoption of Agenda

MMEWG-2025-01-09-01

Moved by: Ryan Nickason -

Municipality of Arran-

Elderslie

Seconded by: Jim Hanna - Township of

Huron Kinloss

Be It Resolved that the Multi-Municipal Energy Working Group hereby adopts the agenda of the Thursday, January 9, 2025 as distributed by the Recording Secretary.

Carried

5. Disclosures of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof

There were no disclosures made.

6. Minutes of Previous Meetings

6.1 MMEWG Minutes - November 14, 2024

MMEWG-2025-01-09-02

Moved by: Terry Mckay - Township of

Chatsworth

Seconded by: Ryan Nickason -

Municipality of Arran-

Elderslie

Be It Resolved that the Multi-Municipal Energy Working Group hereby approves the minutes of the Thursday, November 14, 2024 meeting as presented by the Recording Secretary.

Carried

7. Business Arising from the Minutes

7.1 IESO Meeting

The meeting that was to be held on December 5, 2024 was cancelled. The IESO felt that given the talking points provided, in order to facilitate a fulsome and informed discussion, they recommend including a few of the Ministries in this meeting.

A new date for the meeting has not yet been provided.

8. Delegations/Presentations

8.1 Bill Palmer - Letter to the Office of the Fire Marshal

Mr. Palmer made a presentation to the Working Group regarding a submission he made to the Office of the Fire Marshal regarding safety of the public and first responders in the event of a lithium ion BESS fire.

In his letter, he notes urgency due to the pending installation of BESS systems such as 400 MW/1600 MWh Neoen Ontario Tara BESS (formerly known as the Shift Solar Grey Owl BESS).

The letter also refers to a handbook entitled "Solar Electricity and Battery Storage Systems Safety Handbook for Firefighters" (prepared by the Canadian Renewable Energy Association (CanREA) in collaboration with the Ontario Association of Fire Chiefs (OAFC). Mr. Palmer raised concerns including the inadequate consideration of public safety related to fires in BESS facilities and that it downplays the risk faced by first responders.

Mr. Palmer also referenced findings of an EV FireSafe study, developed for the Defence Science and Technology Group of the Australian Government, Department of Defence. Findings from that study, identified the risk from lithium-ion batteries such as the 60 to 100 kWh batteries in current Tesla Electric Vehicles.

He urges the Office of the Fire Marshal to review the concerns and to give direction to the IESO and impacted municipalities before the ongoing installation of Ontario BESS facilities continues.

The Working Group thanked Mr. Palmer for his presentation.

MMEWG-2025-01-09-03

Moved by: Jim Hanna - Township of

Huron Kinloss

Seconded by: Dan Wickens - Municipality

of Grey Highlands

Be It Resolved that the Multi-Municipal Energy Working Group hereby receives Mr. Palmer's presentation for information.

Carried

9. Correspondence

9.1 Requiring Action

9.1.1 2025 MMEWG Meeting Calendar

MMEWG-2025-01-09-04

Moved by: Sue Carleton - Township of

Georgians Bluffs

Seconded by: Terry Mckay - Township of

Chatsworth

Be It Resolved that the Multi-Municipal Energy Working Group hereby approves the 2025 regular meeting schedule as presented.

Carried

9.2 For Information

MMEWG-2025-01-09-06

Moved by: Ryan Nickason -

Municipality of Arran-

Elderslie

Seconded by: Todd Dowd - Municipality of

Northern Bruce Peninsula

Be It Resolved that the Multi-Municipal Energy Working Group hereby receives, notes and file the correspondence for information purposes.

Carried

- 9.2.1 December 6 2024 IESO Engagement Feedback
- 9.2.2 Tara BESS Open House January 21, 2025

The Working Group discussed concerns related to the Tara BESS proposal.

MMEWG-2025-01-09-05

Moved by: Jim Hanna - Township of

Huron Kinloss

Seconded by: Mark Davis - Municipality of

Arran-Elderslie - Citizen

Appointee

Be It Resolved that the Multi-Municipal Energy Working Group hereby directs that the presentation and materials presented by Mr. Palmer be forwarded to all member municipalities.

Carried

9.2.3 WCO letter to MECP regarding Urgent Action Needed to Wind Turbine Regulations

10. Members Updates

11. New Business

Mr. Howard noted the rules regarding projects on prime agricultural areas has potentially stalled new projects.

Chair Allwood will be attending ROMA and plans to connect with IESO representatives.

12. Closed Session (if required)

Not required.

13. Confirmation of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be March 13, 2025 at 7 p.m.

14. Adjournment

MMEWG-2025-01-09-07

Moved by: Terry McKay - Township of

Chatsworth

Seconded by: Sue Carleton - Township of

Georgians Bluffs

Be it Resolved that the meeting of the Multi-Municipal Energy Working Group is hereby adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

Carried